[grey_zealot's_zone]

TV: DC vs. MV (v1.2)

As much of a “Marvel Zombie” as I am, as much as I’m looking forward to the coming season of ABC’s “Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.” and its mid-season “mini-series”, “Marvel’s Agent Carter”, I have to admit I’m looking forward to seeing what FOX is going to do with “GOTHAM”, one of the major cities of DC Comics’ universe, birthplace of Bruce Wayne, stomping grounds of Batman.

High hopes, actually. Hoping they’ve learned from both MAOS as well as “Arrow” and, frankly, their own “Sons of Anarchy”.

Git to listen to an interview with a TV critic last week on NPR prior to the season premiere of the final season SOA. Guy was going on and on about “melodrama” and SOA being a kinda “soap opera with guns” and “melodrama for guys” or whatever. *shrug*

I don’t want junk. I like a little of “the fantastic” meets “real world”. But I don’t want to watch junk, exactly. I sometimes tolerate some junk, if I think I can sift-out redeeming “nuggets”. The “Man of Steel” Superman movie franchise reboot was like that. I liked it, but only because of “golden nuggets” and “diamonds in the rough” were still cool, despite some crusty shit.

As far as “melodrama” goes: I don’t want “arch” (as I think Joss Whedon puts it). I don’t want self-consciously silly and over the top. Would like “engaging” melodrama. Sucks you in because of the characters and the conflicts and interactions they face, against each other, with each other, against Nature, against circumstances (past leading to present and affecting their future), trying to not just survive, trying to not just “achieve”, but also grow.

Breaking Bad. Game of Thrones. The Walking Dead. Sons of Anarchy. Arrow. The modern Battlestar Galactica. Now, MAOS. Soon, GOTHAM. Bit of “the fantastic” [varying degrees of it, to be sure], bit of “the hero’s journey into the underworld” (as Joseph Campbell might describe it), with a bit of immersive “Shakespearean melodrama”.

We shall see what we shall see.

EDIT: Like that it’s going to be on Monday nights, and not going directly against MAOS on Tuesdays. “Sleepy Hollow” following GOTHAM is good. Shame “Almost Human” had to go. Too bad AH couldn’t be the “mid-season berak mini-series” to SH or GOTHAM that Agent Carter will be to MAOS.

