[grey_zealot's_zone]

“Ghost Ex Machina”

Just saw “Ghost in the Shell”. I liked it. But, I’m biased.

Like a lot of sci-fi, plays with concepts of identity, humanity, meaning.

Wrapped in a crunchy shell.

I avoided all spoilers. I barely remember seeing an anime movie of the story, late 1990’s.

Time now to read-up on the story of the story. 

EDIT (2017-04-07): Wow, GitS has seen a lot of anime iterations since 1994. 

Sidebar: I still haven’t read any reviews of this 2017 version, but will this afternoon. The “Blade Runner” movie from the 1980’s kept coming to mind last night while watching this version of GitS, and if I’m thinking about it, it was probably a common enough thought that half the reviews I’ll read will mention it. Not a complaint, just thinking.

Only thing I couldn’t avoid before seeing it was some negative commentary via NPR, covering the controversy of casting Scarlett Johansson instead of an actress of Asian heritage. I can see the point, but still enjoyed the movie.

From the film, I do love the “blurring” between humans and robots. It wasn’t about robots with artificial intelligence surpassing humanity, it was more about a kind of “Transhumanist Cyborgism”, melding of human and machine. If I may crib from the “Orphan Black” TV series, although i identify myself as a “transhumanist”, I’m less about cybernetic implants and bionics, more about use of tech to help repair/regenerate humans, correct genetic abnormalities, enhanced evolution, sort of “neo-lutionist transhumanist”. NOT opposed to cybernetics/bionics, though; not opposed to “melding” of human mind and artificial intelligence either. Just have to keep Hubris at bay, remember we are still part of Nature and its mechanisms of Evolution, that we still might be ground to atoms by God’s Celectial Machine, and must be careful, endeavor to head off mistakes, and quickly recover from them, learn from them; mistakes are inevitable. 

EDIT (2017-04-08): Well, I haven’t read any full review of GitS yet. I stopped by the Box Office Mojo site, to see what it’s bringing in, then over to Rotten Tomatoes, where I read the concensus: “Critic Consensus: Ghost in the Shellboasts cool visuals and a compelling central performance from Scarlett Johansson, but the end result lacks the magic of the movie’s classic source material”

Well, I liked. *shrug* 

Thinking: Visuals. A cityscape so saturated with glass, steel, concrete, and eye-candy advertising, and it still seems so desolate. 

EDIT (2017-04-09): Here’s a thought-provoking review, best I’ve read so far. I disagree on a few points — I found the philosophical questions about human sentience to be there, and stimulating for me — but the author seems to know and love the source material, so it’s a very revealing review. I agree with the point about the original influencing everything that came later, like The Matrix or Avatar. —

Review: ‘Ghost in the Shell’ Is an Incoherent Misfire of a Remake – The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2017/03/ghost-in-the-shell-remake-review/521337/

