[grey_zealot's_zone]

Beyond The Pale (Male): Marvel, Diversity And A Changing Comics Readership

[From NPR News “Morning Edition – Sunday”: Beyond The Pale (Male): Marvel, Diversity And A Changing Comics Readership: http://www.npr.org/2017/04/08/523044892/beyond-the-pale-male-marvel-diversity-and-a-changing-comics-readership

Demographic representation, even in the fictional world of superhumans, is incredibly important to me. I’m glad the marketplace and product has evolved the way it has. Hope “House of Ideas” doesn’t backslide.

FYI: I stopped buying individual issues of comics over a decade ago, I rarely buy a physical trade paperback collection of comics anymore, and I’ve only bought a ‘handful’ of digital trade paperback collections  (all Steve Rogers and Sam Wilson “Captain America” related) over the past year or so.

I tend to spend my entertainment dollars on HeroClix (a physical, tabletop strategy game using miniatures with themes based on various properties; I mainly buy those based on Marvel and DC Comics characters), Marvel PuzzleQuest game app (using Marvel Comics super-characters), and movies. I don’t have the time or money or storage space for physical comic books anymore.

Opinion: the physical comic books is still hugely important, primarily because they are where everything that “percolates up” to the movies gets its start. 

