[grey_zealot's_zone]

Short version: finally got to see “War for the Planet of the Apes” last Saturday. LOVED IT.

Long version: ….. [BRB]

EDIT (2017-08-06): Well, I wasn’t back right away. Sorry.

So, the week of July 14th, the week WPA [War for the Planet of the Apes] was to open, was telling the girlfriend I hoped she would see it with me. So, we used her On Demand service to watch the first of this series, 2011’s “Rise of the Planet of the Apes” (Tuesday the 11th, I believe). She’s not a sci-fi person, generally. SHE LIKED IT. I was happy.

Thursday, July 27th (if I recall correctly), we watch the second film in this particular “Apes” series, 2014’s “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes”. She Liked that one too! I was happy. Then, that weekend, due to circumstances that were totally my fault, on Saturday the 29th, I’m getting my first viewing in, solo.

Yesterday, Saturday the 6th of August, the girlfriend agreed to go, and we saw the 5:30pm 3D viewing (which almost turned out badly, until someone else in the audience found someone to complain to about the focus problem). Girlfriend’s verdict: She Liked it! Boo-Yah!

(To My Gal: Don’t worry, I like movies like “Detroit” and “Dunkirk”, too, so I’ll definitely go with you to those. Maybe you’ll like to see “Wind River”? Might be up your alley…)

Anyway: Loving this ‘reboot’ of the Apes. the old 1960’s/70’s stuff has its charms, but this series just has more gravitas, more meat-on-the-bone for me than the old stuff now. A good thing, IMO.

SPOILER ALERT! AVERT THINE EYES!

So, in “Rise”… News item that flashes briefly on-screen is about the launch of a NASA space mission. “Dawn” takes place 10 years after the Simian Flu ravages human civilization in “Rise”. “War” takes place 15 years after “Rise”.

Will we have astronauts returning to Earth in the next movie? How far after “War” will it be set? What will the Apes’ relationship to technology be, let alone whatever is left of Humanity? We already have Cornelius and Nova…

{Sidebar: “War”: where was the border depot? Oregon border? Or Nevada border? I mean, the Apes were originally settled somewhere in what was the Golden Gate National Recreational Area, correct?}

